“You must do the things you think you cannot do”

The motive I have for doing my research about homesickness and how to make something that could possibly reduce this feeling, comes mostly from myself and my experiences abroad. While I was living abroad the first weeks were always the hardest. Missing my family, missing my friends, basically missing all the comforts home brings.

Obviously I am not the only person who experiences homesickness. While I was living abroad I met a lot of people who felt the same. Of course we were all missing different things from our homes. Someone missed the food, someone missed their family and someone could miss the weather and environment. But we all agreed on missing “Home”. Eventually the homesickness get’s less and you could have the best time of your life with every now and then a small hint of homesickness, but not as much as in the beginning.

I want to research what I could create to reduce homesickness. Especially for people moving abroad for a long(er) term, since the start of that exciting journey should be supported with as much help as possible.

Hopefully I will end up with a result and product that people who are moving abroad could use in times of homesickness, by combining the new environment with the comforts of home.

Project limits..

The research will be focused on people moving abroad for a long term. This means that if someone is moving within their own country the research could possibly be less relevant on them.


Theoretical framework

Topics.png

The topics written down on the image above this text can be retrieved from websites, Libraries and blogs. 

There is a lot of research already about homesickness. For example: A lot of freshmen at the universities experience homesickness “http://skyfactor.com/decade-homesickness-research-weve-learned/

There is a lot of research for homelessness already done, for homesickness on the other hand not so much. “Read here about Finlands way to reduce homelessness

